Brandl & Talos advises shareholders on the sale of Themis to Merck Sharp Dohme

 • Corporate Law & Transactions from Stephan Strass, Roman Rericha, Markus Arzt

Vienna, May 27, 2020 - With this acquisition, Merck Sharp Dohme (MSD) secures, among others, the COVID-19 vaccine developed by Austrian company Themis, which will be combined with an MSD vaccine platform to contribute to the global fight against coronavirus.

Austrian company Themis is a leader in the development of vaccines against immune diseases and was previously owned by several international investors. Yesterday, MSD announced the acquisition of the company. MSD is combining its vaccine platform with a new COVID-19 vaccine developed by Themis and Institut Pasteur (a European vaccine research institute), a transaction that paves the way for a global fight against coronavirus.

Brandl Talos advised the shareholders of Themis on this landmark deal for the Austrian biotech scene; these include Farallon Capital Management, Global Health Investment Fund, Adjuvent Capital, Wellington Partners Life Sciences, Ventech, Omnes-Fonds, Hadean Ventures and aws Gründerfonds. In addition, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati (Robert Ishii & Miranda Biven) advised the shareholders on U.S. law issues.

Themis Bioscience GmbH was represented by McDermott Will & Emery France (Emmanuelle Trombe & David Lipkin) and Herbst Kinsky (Florian Steinhart & Felix Kernbichler).

MSD was represented by Covington & Burling (Catherine J. Dargan & Michael J. Riella) and Wolf Theiss (Hartwig Kienast).

Roman Rericha led the Brandl Talos transaction team, which also included Markus Arzt, Stephan Strass and Matea Plavotic.

» This transaction is a shining example of the innovative strength of Austrian biotechnology companies. We have been supporting the scene for years and are pleased that they are also relying on our expertise in this sensational transaction. «
Roman Rericha
The team
Stephan Strass
 / Venture Capital & Start Ups, Corporate Law & Transactions
Institutional and strategic investors and other companies turn to Stephan for assistance on legal issues including acquisitions, financing rounds, joint ventures, and exit transactions. He has co-authored commentaries on the EU Merger Act and the Investment Fund Act, and is the author of many academic publications.

University of Vienna, Faculty of Law (Mag. iur. 2015)
Harvard Law School, Master of Laws (LL.M. 2019)
Roman Rericha
 / Fund Formation, Venture Capital & Start Ups, Corporate Law & Transactions
Roman represents clients in complex cross-border M&A and private equity transactions. Austrian and international venture capital funds regularly turn to him for assisting with investments in Austria. His expert advice also guides start-ups through large-scale financing rounds.

University of Vienna, Faculty of Law (Mag. iur. 2005),
Faculty of Business, Economics and Statistics, (Mag. rer.soc.oec. 2007)
Markus Arzt
 / Fund Formation, Capital Markets, Venture Capital & Start Ups, Corporate Law & Transactions
In recent years, Markus has spearheaded various large international transactions and is a respected venture capital and private equity expert.

University of Vienna, Faculty of Law (Mag. iur. 2012)
Latest insights into
Corporate Law & Transactions
BRANDL TALOS advises Sportradar on the Acquisition of InteractSport
Press release • Corporate Law & Transactions from Thomas Talos, Stephan Strass
BRANDL TALOS advised Sportradar Group, a leading global provider of sports data intelligence and sport entertainment solutions, on its acquisition of InteractSport Group, a sports data and technology company based in Australia and England with partnerships across a range of leading sports organisations with a particular expertise in cricket. The acquisition is subject to regulatory approvals and expected to close in Q2/2021.
BRANDL TALOS advises International VC Syndicate on Investment in Allcyte
Press release • Corporate Law & Transactions from Roman Rericha, Stephan Strass, Sonam Schima, Elena Ciresa
BRANDL TALOS advised an international syndicate of venture capital funds, including 42CAP (alongside SMP – Frederik Gärtner) and Amino Collective (both Germany), PUSH Ventures (Austria), Air Street Capital (UK) and VP Venture Partners (Switzerland), on their investment in Allcyte GmbH, an Austrian biotech firm focused on functional drug testing in primary human material.
BRANDL TALOS advises Austrian family office in its investment in Popeyes UK
Press release • Corporate Law & Transactions from Roman Rericha, Markus Arzt, Christina Bernhart, Adrian Zuschmann
Following its acquisition of the Burger King master franchise in Scandinavia, "Ring" International Holding AG has reached an agreement with PLK Europe GmbH an affiliate of Restaurant Brands International Inc. ("RBI"), to become the UK master franchisee of Popeyes® with exclusive rights to the brand in the UK.

Brandl Talos berät Gesellschafter beim Verkauf von Themis an Merck Sharp Dohme

Press release • Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen von Roman Rericha, Markus Arzt, Stephan Strass

Wien, 27 Mai 2020 - Mit dieser Übernahme sichert sich Merck Sharp Dohme (MSD) unter anderem den vom österreichischen Unternehmen Themis entwickelten Impfstoff gegen COVID-19. Dieser wird mit einer MSD Impfplattform kombiniert und trägt so zu der weltweiten Bekämpfung des Coronavirus bei.

Das österreichische Unternehmen Themis ist führend in der Entwicklung von Impfstoffen gegen Immunkrankheiten und befand sich bisher in der Hand mehrerer internationaler Investoren. Gestern gab MSD die Übernahme des Unternehmens bekannt. MSD kombiniert seine Impfstoffplattform mit einem neuen, von Themis und dem Institut Pasteur (einem europäischen Impfstoffforschungsinstitut) entwickelten, Impfstoff gegen COVID-19. Diese Transaktion ebnet den Weg für eine weltweite Bekämpfung des Coronavirus.

Brandl Talos beriet die Gesellschafter von Themis bei diesem landmark deal für die österreichische Biotech-Szene; diese umfassen Farallon Capital Management, Global Health Investment Fund, Adjuvent Capital, Wellington Partners Life Sciences, Ventech, Omnes-Fonds, Hadean Ventures und aws Gründerfonds. Zudem hat Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati (Robert Ishii & Miranda Biven) die Gesellschafter zu Fragen des US-Rechts beraten.

Themis Bioscience GmbH wurde von McDermott Will & Emery France (Emmanuelle Trombe & David Lipkin) und Herbst Kinsky (Florian Steinhart & Felix Kernbichler) vertreten.

MSD wurde von Covington & Burling (Catherine J. Dargan & Michael J. Riella) und Wolf Theiss (Hartwig Kienast) vertreten.

Roman Rericha leitete das Brandl Talos–Transaktionsteam, dem auch Markus Arzt, Stephan Strass und Matea Plavotic angehörten.

» Diese Transaktion ist ein Paradebeispiel für die Innovationskraft österreichischer Biotechnologie-Unternehmen. Wir unterstützen die Szene seit Jahren und freuen uns, dass man auch bei dieser sensationellen Transaktion auf unsere Expertise zählt. «
Roman Rericha
Das Team
Roman Rericha
Partner / Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen, Venture Capital & Start-ups, Fund Formation
Roman betreut komplexe, grenzüber­schreitende M&A- und Private Equity-Transaktionen. Er unterstützt regelmäßig ausländische und österreichische Venture Capital-Fonds iZm Investments in Österreich sowie Start-ups bei Large Scale-Finan­zierungsrunden.

Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät (Mag. iur. 2005)
Fakultät der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, (Mag. rer.soc.oec. 2007)
Markus Arzt
Partner / Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen, Venture Capital & Start-ups, Fund Formation, Kapitalmarktrecht
Markus Arzt hat in den vergangenen Jahren an großen internationalen Transaktionen federführend mitgewirkt und ist angesehener Experte für Venture Capital und Private Equity.

Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät (Mag. iur. 2012)
Stephan Strass
Attorney at Law / Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen, Venture Capital & Start-ups
Stephan berät institutionelle und strategische Investoren sowie Unternehmen bei Akquisitionen, Finanzierungsrunden, Joint Ventures und Exit-Transaktionen. Er ist Co-Autor von Kommentaren zum EU-Verschmelz­ungsgesetz und Investmentfondsgesetz sowie Autor zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Publikationen.

Harvard Law School, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, Master of Laws (LL.M. 2019)
Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät, (Magister iuris 2015)
Latest insights zu
Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen
BRANDL TALOS berät Sportradar bei der Akquisition von InteractSport
Press release • Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen von Thomas Talos, Stephan Strass
BRANDL TALOS hat die Sportradar Group, einen weltweit führenden Anbieter von Sportdatenanalysen und Sport-Entertainment-Lösungen, bei der Übernahme der InteractSport Group beraten. Die InteractSport Group ist ein Sportdaten- und Technologieunternehmen mit Sitz in Australien und England, das Partnerschaften mit einer Reihe führender Sportorganisationen unterhält und sich insbesondere auf Cricket spezialisiert hat. Das Closing der Akquisition steht unter dem Vorbehalt üblicher Bedingungen und regulatorischer Genehmigungen und wird für Q2/2021erwartet.


Gewährleistung neu? Die Umsetzung der EU-Richtlinien zum Warenkauf und digitalen Inhalten
Article • Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen von Sonam Schima, Lukas Berghuber
Relativ knapp vor Ende der Umsetzungsfrist wurde nun ein erster Ministerialentwurf für das nationale Umsetzungsgesetz der Digitale-Inhalte-Richtlinie und Warenkauf-Richtlinie präsen-tiert. Dieser sieht – in enger Anlehnung an die europäischen Vorgaben – eine Erweiterung von Verbraucherrechten und ein separates Gewährleistungsregime vor.
Legal 500 Ranking 2021: Fünf Fachgebiete und sieben Anwälte von BRANDL TALOS ausgezeichnet
Article • Bank-, Versicherungs- und Wertpapieraufsichtsrecht von Ernst Brandl, Christian Lenz, Roman Rericha, Christopher Schrank, Alexander Stücklberger, Thomas Talos, Raphael Toman