Managing Director Liability – Contracts Shortening the Statute of Limitations inadmissible

 • White-Collar Crime from Christopher Schrank

According to the law, claims for compensation by the GmbH against "its" managing directors become time-barred within five years. In practice, however, shorter limitation periods are often agreed. This is to encourage managing directors to make entrepreneurial decisions by not leaving them in the dark for too long with regard to possible liability. According to a recent decision of the Austrian Supreme Court, however, such reductions are invalid.

Limitation of liability of managing directors

The GmbHG Act provides for an independent basis of claim for the liability of managing directors vis-à-vis “their” company. Accordingly, managing directors are liable if they violate the due care and diligence of a diligent businessman in the course of their activities and the company suffers damage as a result (“managing director liability”). Such claims for damages become time-barred within five years due to the express statutory provision of Sec. 25 (6) GmbHG. § Sec. 84 (6) AktG also contains the same provision for members of the management board.

According to case law, this period replaces the general limitation period of three years under civil law, resulting in an extension of the liability of managing directors. In practice, therefore, the – potentially liable – managing directors typically feel the need to shorten the limitation period in order to “get rid” of liability for any acts in breach of due care as quickly as possible. Consequently, it is quite common to include expiry clauses in managing directors’ contracts which shorten the statutory five-year limitation period.

Shortening invalid according to OGH

In a recent decision (9 ObA 136/19v), the Austrian Supreme Court has now ruled that this five-year limitation period is mandatory law. A contractual shortening of the period is therefore null and void. The Supreme Court justifies its legal opinion with a twofold protective orientation: The five-year limitation period protects both the creditors of the company and the shareholders themselves. Company creditors do not have any direct claims against the managing directors, but can, if necessary, seize the company’s claims for compensation against the managing director by way of execution. A shorter limitation period would thus reduce the liability fund of the creditors. At the same time, the longer limitation period is also intended to protect the shareholders themselves.

The team
Christopher Schrank
 / Labour Law, Compliance & Internal Investigations, White-Collar Crime
Christopher specializes in representing both corporations and executives in complex matters or criminal law and corporate legal disputes. He also leads internal investigations and helps companies prevent problems before they arise.

University of Vienna, Faculty of Law (Mag. iur. 1998, Dr. iur. 2001)
Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration (Mag. rer.soc.oec. 1998)

Geschäftsführer­haftung – vertragliche Verkürzung der Verjährungsfrist unzulässig

Article • Wirtschaftsstrafrecht von Christopher Schrank

Ersatzansprüche der GmbH gegenüber “ihren” Geschäftsführern verjähren nach dem Gesetz binnen fünf Jahren. In der Praxis werden aber oft kürzere Verjährungsfristen vereinbart. Damit sollen Geschäftsführer zu unternehmerischen Entscheidungen ermutigt werden, indem sie hinsichtlich einer möglichen Haftung nicht allzu lange im Unklaren bleiben. Nach einer aktuellen Entscheidung des OGH sind solche Verkürzungen jedoch unwirksam.

Zur Verjährung der Geschäftsführerhaftung

Das GmbH-Gesetz sieht für die Haftung der Geschäftsführer gegenüber “ihrer” Gesellschaft eine eigenständige Anspruchsgrundlage vor. Demnach haften Geschäftsführer, wenn sie bei ihrer Tätigkeit die Sorgfalt eines ordentlichen Geschäftsmannes verletzen und der Gesellschaft daraus ein Schaden entsteht (“Geschäftsführerhaftung”). Derartige Ersatzansprüche verjähren aufgrund der ausdrücklichen gesetzlichen Regelung des § 25 Abs 6 GmbHG binnen fünf Jahren. § 84 Abs 6 AktG enthält die gleiche Regelung auch für Vorstandsmitglieder.

Nach der Judikatur ersetzt diese Frist die allgemeine zivilrechtliche Verjährungsfrist von drei Jahren, wodurch es zu einer Verlängerung der Haftung von Geschäftsführern kommt. In der Praxis haben die – potentiell haftbaren – Geschäftsführer deshalb typischerweise das Bedürfnis, die Verjährungsfrist zu verkürzen, um die Haftung für allenfalls sorgfaltswidrige Handlungen möglichst rasch “los zu werden”. Folglich ist es durchaus üblich, in Geschäftsführerverträgen Verfallsklauseln vorzusehen, mit denen die gesetzliche fünfjährige Verjährungsfrist verkürzt wird.

Verkürzung laut OGH nichtig

In einer aktuellen Entscheidung (9 ObA 136/19v) hat der OGH nun ausgesprochen, dass diese fünfjährige Verjährungsfrist zwingendes Recht ist. Eine vertragliche Verkürzung der Frist ist daher nichtig. Der OGH begründet seine Rechtsansicht mit einer zweifachen Schutzorientierung: Die fünfjährige Verjährungsfrist schützt sowohl die Gläubiger der Gesellschaft als auch die Gesellschafter selbst. Gesellschaftsgläubiger haben nämlich gegenüber den Geschäftsführern keine direkten Ansprüche, können aber auf die Ersatzansprüche der Gesellschaft gegen den Geschäftsführer gegebenenfalls im Wege der Exekution greifen. Eine kürzere Verjährungsfrist würde damit den Haftungsfonds der Gläubiger schmälern. Zugleich soll die längere Verjährungsfrist auch die Gesellschafter selbst schützen.

Das Team
Christopher Schrank
Partner / Wirtschaftsstrafrecht, Compliance & Interne Untersuchungen, Arbeitsrecht
Christopher ist spezialisiert auf die Vertretung von Unternehmen sowie ManagerInnen in komplexen Strafsachen und damit verbundenen gesellschaftsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten. Weiters leitet er interne Untersuchungen und berät Unternehmen präventiv.

Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät (Mag. iur. 1998, Dr. iur. 2001)
Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Mag. rer.soc.oec. 1998)