Kiprion completes registration as cryptocurrency service provider with BRANDL TALOS

Press release • Capital Markets from Raphael Toman, Alexandra Glaser

Fintech company Kiprion has been successfully registered with the Austrian Financial Market Authority (FMA) as a "virtual currency service provider" according to FM-GwG.

Kiprion is a cryptocurrency custody service for institutional and commercial investors. The company has one of the most reliable and secure cryptographic security technologies for professionals. With the successful registration, the company is now able to store a significant portion of popular of payment as well as utility tokens in the sense of the FM-GwG.

”KIPRION’s innovative business model – the custody of crypto assets for institutional investors – needs a safe and sound legal framework to attract clients. We are glad to have found a partner in the law firm Brandl Talos and Raphael who actively supports us in creating the regulatory and legal framework for our business model,” Jonas Jünger, CEO of Kiprion.

”The registration as a virtual currency service provider is a strategic milestone for Kiprion. We are pleased to make an important contribution to the company’s success and once again demonstrate our expertise in the crypto sector,” Raphael Toman, Associate Partner at BRANDL TALOS.

The team
Raphael Toman
Associated Partner / Legal Tech, IP & Data Protection, Regulatory, Capital Markets, Compliance & Internal Investigations, Banking, Insurance and Securities Regulation Law
Raphael represents financial services providers in matters before civil and administrative courts. His clients rely on his legal advice on regulatory issues, anti-money laundering compliance and cryptocurrencies. He also specializes in supporting clients from various industries in (cross-border) dispute resolution.

University of Vienna, Faculty of Law (Mag. iur. 2011, Dr. iur. 2019)
New York University, University of Vienna academic excellence scholarship (LL.M. 2017)
admitted to the New York bar (2017)
Stagiaire at the International Chamber of Commerce (2018)
Alexandra Glaser
Associate / Capital Markets, Banking, Insurance and Securities Regulation Law
Alexandra is part of our team since 2021.

University Vienna, Faculty of Law (Magistra iuris 2017)
University Saarland (LL.M. 2021)

Kiprion schließt Zulassung als Dienstleister für virtuelle Währungen mit BRANDL TALOS ab

Press release • Kapitalmarktrecht von Raphael Toman, Alexandra Glaser

Das Fintech-Unternehmen Kiprion ist bei der österreichischen Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörde (FMA) erfolgreich als "Dienstleister für virtuelle Währungen" zugelassen worden.

Kiprion ist ein Verwahrungsdienstleister für virtuelle Währungen für institutionelle und gewerbliche Anleger.  Das Unternehmen verfügt über eine der zuverlässigsten und sichersten kryptografischen Sicherheitstechnologien für professionelle Investoren. Durch die erfolgreiche Registrierung kann das Unternehmen nunmehr einen wesentlichen Teil der gängigen Payment- als auch Utility-Token nach FM-GwG verwahren.

”Das innovative Geschäftsmodell der KIPRION – die Verwahrung von Kryptowerten für institutionelle Kunden – braucht einen sicheren und soliden Rechtsrahmen um Kunden gewinnen zu können. Wir sind froh mit der Kanzlei Brandl Talos und Dr. Toman einen Partner gefunden zu haben, der uns tatkräftig dabei unterstützt, den regulatorischen und rechtlichen Rahmen für unser Geschäftsmodell zu schaffen.”, Jonas Jünger, CEO von Kiprion.

”Die Registrierung als Verwahrer virtueller Währungen ist ein strategischer Meilenstein für Kiprion. Wir freuen uns, dass wir einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Erfolg des Unternehmens beisteuern können und unsere Expertise im Kryptobereich erneut unter Beweis stellen können”, Raphael Toman, Assoziierter Partner bei BRANDL TALOS.

Das Team
Raphael Toman
Associated Partner / Bank-, Versicherungs- und Wertpapieraufsichtsrecht, Compliance & Interne Untersuchungen, Kapitalmarktrecht, Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht & Regulatory, IP & Datenschutz, Legal Tech
Raphael betreut vorwiegend Finanzdienstleister in Verfahren vor Zivil- wie Verwaltungsgerichten sowie bei regulatorischen Fragestellungen, Geldwäscheprävention sowie Krypto­währungen. Er unterstützt MandantInnen aus verschiedenen Branchen in (grenzüber­schreitenden) streitigen Verfahren.

Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät (Mag. iur. 2011; Dr. iur. 2019)
New York University, Leistungsstipendium der Universität Wien (LL.M. 2017)
Zulassung als Rechtsanwalt auch in New York (2017)
Stagiaire bei der International Chamber of Commerce (2018)


Alexandra Glaser
Associate / Bank-, Versicherungs- und Wertpapieraufsichtsrecht, Kapitalmarktrecht
Alexandra ist seit 2021 Teil unseres Teams.

Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät (Magistra iuris 2017)
Universität des Saarlandes (LL.M. 2021)