European Court of Justice contradicts EU Commission and confirms: CBD is not an addictive substance

Article • Nährboden - Our Start-up Program from Stephan Strass

Landmark ECJ decision opens the door to new business and investment opportunities in the CBD industry.

With its ruling in Case BS and CA, C-663/18, the ECJ has added another asset to the gradual global liberalization of cannabis products and paved the way for further commercialization of cannabidiol (CBD) products.

The legal situation in the EU related to CBD-containing products remains largely unclear. Only recently, the European Commission caused a stir, as it would like to qualify the – non-psychoactive – CBD extracted from the flowers and fruit stems of the hemp plant as an addictive substance within the meaning of the United Nations Single Convention of 1961.Such a classification would have the consequence that CBD would neither fall within the scope of free movement of goods according to Art 34 and 36 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU) (cf. also ECJ, 16 December 2010, Rs Josemans, C-137/09, para 42) nor as foodstuff under the Novel Foods Regulation ((EU) 2015/2283).

In yesterday’s ruling, the ECJ disagreed with the EU Commission and stated that CBD is not to be considered an addictive substance as defined by the 1961 Single Convention. According to the ECJ, it is not apparent that CBD “has psychotropic effects and harmful effects on human health on the basis of the available scientific data” (Rs BS and CA, C-663/18, para 72). The free movement of goods (Art 34 and 36 TFEU) therefore also applies to CBD. Thus, the ECJ overrides a plain wording interpretation of the Single Convention and interprets the agreement teleologically with regard to its objective – the protection of health and the welfare of mankind.

In line with its previous case law, the ECJ stated that a marketing ban on CBD products lawfully produced in another Member State may be justified by the objective of protecting public health if it is appropriate and necessary for that purpose. However, the ECJ doubts that these conditions are actually met in the present case.

New business and investment opportunities

With the present ruling, the ECJ follows the international trend towards the liberalization of cannabis products and paves the way for the marketing and distribution of CBD products in the EU. The decision will also change the interpretation and application practice of the Novel Foods Regulation by the EU Commission – in view of the clear statements of the ECJ, a classification of CBD products as addictive substances by the Commission now seems unlikely. By explicitly recognizing the applicability of the free movement of goods under Art 34 and 36 TFEU to CBD products, the ECJ opens the door to numerous new business and investment opportunities in the CBD industry – the first reactions from the industry show that the train has already started rolling.

Do you have any questions? The BTP expert team would be happy to advise you.

The team
Stephan Strass
 / Venture Capital & Start Ups, Corporate Law & Transactions
Institutional and strategic investors and other companies turn to Stephan for assistance on legal issues including acquisitions, financing rounds, joint ventures, and exit transactions. He has co-authored commentaries on the EU Merger Act and the Investment Fund Act, and is the author of many academic publications.

University of Vienna, Faculty of Law (Mag. iur. 2015)
Harvard Law School, Master of Laws (LL.M. 2019)

EuGH widerspricht EU Kommission und bestätigt: CBD ist kein Suchtmittel

Article • Nährboden von Stephan Strass

Wegweisendes EuGH-Urteil als Türöffner für neue Geschäfts- und Investitionsmöglichkeiten in der CBD-Branche

Der EuGH hat mit seinem gestrigen Urteil in der Rs BS und CA, C‑663/18, der schrittweisen globalen Liberalisierung von Cannabisprodukten ein weiteres Kapital hinzugefügt und den Weg zur weiteren Vermarktung von Cannabidiol (CBD)-Produkten geebnet.

Die Rechtslage in der EU im Zusammenhang mit CBD-haltigen Produkten ist nach wie vor weitgehend verworren. Erst kürzlich hatte die Europäische Kommission für Aufsehen gesorgt, da sie das aus den Blüten und Fruchtständen der Hanfpflanze gewonnene – nicht psychoaktive – CBD als Suchtstoff iSd Einheitsübereinkommens der Vereinten Nationen von 1961 qualifizieren möchte. Eine derartige Einstufung hätte zur Folge, dass CBD weder in den Anwendungsbereich der Warenverkehrsfreiheit nach Art 34 und 36 des Vertrags über die Arbeitsweise der Europäischen Union (AEUV) (vgl auch EuGH, 16. Dezember 2010, Rs Josemans, C-137/09, Rn 42) noch als Lebensmittel unter die Novel-Foods-VO ((EU) 2015/2283) fallen würde.

In seinem gestrigen Urteil hat der EuGH der EU Kommission widersprochen und festgehalten, dass CBD nicht als Suchstoff iSd Einheitsübereinkommens von 1961 anzusehen ist. Laut EuGH sei nicht ersichtlich, dass CBD “auf der Grundlage der verfügbaren wissenschaftlichen Daten psychotrope Wirkungen und schädliche Auswirkungen auf die menschliche Gesundheit hat” (Rs BS und CA, C‑663/18, Rn 72). Die Warenverkehrsfreiheit (Art 34 und 36 AEUV) findet daher auch auf CBD Anwendung. Damit setzt sich der EuGH über eine reine Wortlautinterpretation des Einheitsübereinkommens hinweg und legt das Abkommen im Hinblick auf sein Ziel – dem Schutz der Gesundheit und das Wohl der Menschheit – teleologisch aus.

In Übereinstimmung mit seiner bisherigen Rsp hat der EuGH festgehalten, dass ein Vermarktungsverbot für in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat rechtmäßig hergestellte CBD-Produkte zwar durch das Ziel des Schutzes der öffentlichen Gesundheit gerechtfertigt sein kann, wenn es dazu geeignet und notwendig ist. Der EuGH bezweifelt jedoch, dass diese Voraussetzungen im vorliegenden Fall tatsächlich erfüllt sind.

Neue Geschäfts- und Investitionsmöglichkeiten

Mit dem vorliegenden Urteil schließt sich der EuGH dem internationalen Trend in Richtung Liberalisierung von Cannabis-Produkten an und bereitet der Vermarktung und dem Vertrieb von CBD-Produkten in der EU den Weg. Die Entscheidung wird auch die Auslegungs- und Anwendungspraxis der Novel-Foods-VO durch die EU Kommission verändern – angesichts der klaren Aussagen des EuGH erscheint eine Einstufung von CBD-Produkten als Suchtmittel durch die Kommission nunmehr unwahrscheinlich. Durch die explizit anerkannte Anwendbarkeit der Warenverkehrsfreiheit nach Art 34 und 36 AEUV auf CBD-Produkte öffnet der EuGH zahlreichen neuen Geschäfts- und Investitionsmöglichkeiten in der CBD-Branche die Tür – die ersten Reaktionen aus der Branche zeigen, dass der Stein bereits ins Rollen gekommen ist.

Haben Sie Fragen? Das BTP Expertenteam berät Sie gerne.

Das Team
Stephan Strass
Attorney at Law / Gesellschaftsrecht & Transaktionen, Venture Capital & Start-ups
Stephan berät institutionelle und strategische Investoren sowie Unternehmen bei Akquisitionen, Finanzierungsrunden, Joint Ventures und Exit-Transaktionen. Er ist Co-Autor von Kommentaren zum EU-Verschmelz­ungsgesetz und Investmentfondsgesetz sowie Autor zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Publikationen.

Harvard Law School, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, Master of Laws (LL.M. 2019)
Universität Wien, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät, (Magister iuris 2015)